Trust in yourself


I’m sure that most of you have heard of Rebecca Black. She is responsible for the YouTube viral sensation, Friday.  I admit to picking on the poor girl after hearing the song. I mean it had to be one of the most annoying songs that I had ever heard. Imagine hearing, “Its Friday, Friday. Gotta get down on Friiiday!” over and over again in your head. I was pissed. After a day of thinking, I wasn’t so angry anymore. I realized that Rebecca was a girl with a dream, like most of us, and that it really was not that serious.  I even thought of making a video  defending  the poor girl.  I realized that I love Fridays. I do a little dance every Friday because it means I get a break from school and drunk college kids.  It was also refreshing to see a young teen sticking to a song that actually fit her age range. I mean what do 11 year old Disney stars know about true love and being heart broken?… Exactly.

Check out the video for Friday below:

The video (above) was viewed by over 160 million people on YouTube. Thousands of YouTube users teased her and some even threatened her life. Did she give up?

No, she fired back with this :

This is a great improvement from “Friday”. It is not great because of her improved vocals. It is great because of the message that it is sending to viewers. My favorite quote in the song was:

“By trusting in yourself. Forget everyone else. Believe!”

I can relate to this because I was bullied in school. While bullying is never acceptable, letting bullies dictate how you live your life is even worse.

Live your life, trust in yourself and remember:

“Someone’s opinion of you does not have to become your reality.”

-Les Brown

Similar Posts

If you would like to receive daily inspiration,entertainment, and political news then click here to subscribe.

Follow us on Twitter at twitter.com/respectedlife

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Trust in yourself

  1. I hadn’t seen her new song! This is a major improvement and I, like you, admire her perseverance in following her dream! Thanks for sharing!

    • chrissie says:

      Thanks for commenting : )
      I think that people are a little too hard on her. I admire her because she is a lot braver than most people. I love giving credit where credit is due.

Leave a Reply

