I built it.


  

Do you see that house?

Yeah, I built it.

I did not build it by myself, but I helped.

I volunteered with Habitat for Humanity last weekend.

Habitat for Humanity is a non-profit organization that builds and sells affordable housing for underprivileged families.

I had the experience of a lifetime.

I am going to try to explain what I did.

I’m not much of a construction worker, so I may say the wrong thing.

Forgive me if I do.

My job was to nail the wooden “slates” into place.

It was very hard for me because it was my first time using a hammer.

I hit my fingers more than once.

I bent most of the nails I tried to hammer.

I got splinters. I fell in the mud.

Rain fell.

I was cold.

I was tired.

I worked hard.

The only thing is I did not care.

I did not care that it  was cold.

I did not care that I was dirty or tired.

I didn’t even care about the splinters.

I knew that I would sleep.

I knew that I had a place to stay.

I was there to make a difference.

 I was doing something that was bigger than myself.

 The house I was building was more than just a house.

It was a home.

It would change the life of a family.

I was happy because I helped.

I was happy because I challenged myself.

I was happy because I made a difference.

““The value of a man resides in what he gives and not in what he is capable of receiving.”

-Albert Einstein

If you are interested in affordable housing or volunteering, go to habitat.org

Similar Posts

If you would like to receive daily inspiration,entertainment, and political news then click here to subscribe.
Follow us on Twitter at twitter.com/respectedlife

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “I built it.

  1. typefashion says:

    You can feel proud, awesome ! keep at it !

    xoxo

    http://www.typefashion.wordpress.com

  2. Roxanne says:

    That is totally awesome! I will have to look into that too.

  3. Cowboy says:

    Good for you – there is little quite as satisfying as bent nails, muddy clothes, and bruised fingers in the name of helping others !

    Take care –

  4. Clare says:

    Holy CRAP you are amazing and such an inspiration! You go girrrrrl!
    http://www.clarabelleblog.com

Leave a Reply

