I used to be…


I used to be afraid of who I was.

I used to be afraid to speak because

I was too afraid of what people might think.

I was afraid I was not good enough.

I wanted to be someone else.

I did not understand individuality.

I did not want to stand out.

I wanted to conform.

I needed to be like everyone else.

I needed to see everyone else smile.

I forgot about myself.

I don’t even think I knew myself.

I don’t even think I cared about myself.

Things have changed.

I realized that life is more than being “cool”.

I realized that life is more than a popularity contest.

I realized that I have an opinion that matters.

I needed to speak.

I speak.

I needed to smile.

I smile.

I needed to be myself.

I am myself.

I needed to be proud.

I am proud because

I am so much more than what I used to be.

Photo Credit : aquilianonline

Similar Posts

If you would like to receive daily inspiration,entertainment, and political news then click here to subscribe.
Follow us on Twitter at twitter.com/respectedlife

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “I used to be…

  1. wordsfallfrommyeyes says:

    A great poem. I like the way the words are on the page – they expand out and shallow in. It looks good. Lovely blog.

Leave a Reply

