No H8


A few weeks ago, I was faced with deciding between right and wrong. Thankfully, I made the right decision. It was just a normal night. I was hanging out with my friends as usual. We were having a good time, joking around and just being friends, and then everything changed. A couple of my friends thought it was okay to bash gay people. They called them inappropriate names and even said that they would segregate their children from them if needed. I was shocked. I could not believe that these words could come from people who I called my friends . When I questioned them, they blamed it on their religious beliefs. I was flabbergasted.

I can understand if you believe in something. I respect that and would never challenge anyone’s religious beliefs. However, bashing people simply because of  their sexual orientation is wrong. Calling someone a dyke or a  faggot is not acceptable. Saying that you would not allow your child to play on an athletic team because of  all of the gay people is disgusting . That is not religion. That is discrimination.

I hate when people discriminate. So, I held my ground and told them that their statements were flawed.  They did not like that. They say that I overreacted. Our friendship will never be the same and that is okay with me.  I do not regret a thing.  Equality is precious and it is a right that everyone deserves.  I will never apologize for defending what is right. I will always stand for what I believe in.

Check out a video from the No H8 campaign below:

“Equality is not in regarding different things similarly, equality is in regarding different things differently.”
Tom Robbins

What does equality mean to you?

Would you speak out when everyone is against you?

Would you sacrifice your friends?

Is it worth it?

Similar Posts

If you would like to receive daily inspiration,entertainment, and political news then click here to subscribe.
Follow us on Twitter at twitter.com/respectedlife


Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “No H8

  1. chickstyle says:

    oh wow! it’s so good you point this out. It is discrimination because we are all the same we are human beans and people should not discriminate other just for their sexual orientation or race, color, you named it whatever it is we still equals human beans. I would stand out for myself and for anyone I know. I respect and understand that some people have different opinions and some of them are just to tigth minded but being unrespecful just because their views are different from yours is wrong. If my friends cannot respect my points of views I don’t think they’re my friends after all.

Leave a Reply

